30th Annual FLiCKERFEST Award Winners

Rebecca Varidel
3rd Feb 2021

After a highly successful 10 day COVID safe film festival at Bondi the 30th annual FLiCKERFEST International and Australian awards were announced this evening at a star-studded ceremony at the Bondi Pavilion, Bondi Beach. Attended by celebrated guests from the Australian film industry, the Closing Night ceremony honored the esteemed entrants in this year’s competition and FLiCKERFEST’s Academy® Qualifying Awards, including Flickerfest Award for Best International Short Film, Yoram Gross Award for Best International Animation, Panasonic Lumix Award for Best Australian Short Film & Flickerfest Award for Best Documentary.


Flickerfest Award for Best International Short Film (Academy® Accredited)
Winner: The Present (Palestine)
Writer/Director: Farah Nabulsi | Writer: Hind Shoufani, Farah Nabulsi | Producer: Ossama Bawardi

Special Jury Prize
Winner: Girl With A Thermal Gun (China)
Writer/Director: Rongfei Guo | Producers: Du Yating

Yoram Gross Award for Best International Short Animation (Academy® Accredited)
Winner: Normal (France)
Writer/Director: Julie Caty | Producer: Ron Dyens

SAE Creative Media Institute Award for Best Use of Digital Technology in a Short Film
Winner: Masel Tov Cocktail (Germany)
Director: Arkadij Khaet, Mickey Paatzsch | Writer: Arkadij Khaet, Marle Kirchhoff | Producer: Ludwig Meck,
Lotta Schmelzer, Christine Duttlinger

AZURE Productions Award for Best Rainbow Short Film
Winner: Dustin (France)
Writer/Director: Naïla Guiguet | Producer: Jean-Etienne Brat, Lou Chicoteau
Special Mention: Cwch Deilen (UK)
Director/Writer: Efa Blosse-mason | Producer: Amy Morris


Flickerfest Award for Best Short Documentary Film (Academy® Accredited)
Winner: 57 Days (Spain)
Writer/Director: Mario Lumbreras, Laura Brasero | Producer: Hernán Zin, Nerea Barros

Special Mention for Documentary:
Huntsville Station (USA)
Director/Producer/Writer: Jamie Meltzer, Chris Filippone

Special Mention for Documentary:
We Have One Heart (Poland)
Director/Writer: Katarzyna Warzecha | Producer: Ewa Jastrzębska


Panasonic Lumix Award For Australian (Academy® Accredited) Short Film
Winner: The Flame
Director: Nick Waterman in collaboration with Dayannah Baker Barlow, Tyrese Fernando & Lance Whitton Jr. |
Writer: Nick Waterman, Megan Washington, Dayannah Baker Barlow, Tyrese Fernando, Paul Spearim, Connie
Taylor, Lance Whitton Jr. | Producer: Beyond Empathy

Spectrum Films Award for Best Direction in an Australian Short Film
Winner: This River
Director: Naomi Fryer

Yoram Gross Award for Best Australian Short Animation
Winner: Roborovski
Director: Tilda Cobham-Hervey, Dev Patel | Producer: Tilda Cobham-Hervey, Dev Patel, John Collee | Writer:
Jomon Tomas, Tilda Cobham-Hervey, Dev Patel

John Barry Award for Best Cinematography in an Australian Short Film
Winner: Soulmate
Cinematographer: Kieran Fowler

Avid Award for Best Editing in an Australian Short Film
Winner: This Town Ain’t Big Enough For The Both Of Us
Editor: D.C. Fairhurst

Avid Award for Best Original Music in an Australian Short Film
Winner: The End, The Beginning
Composer: Jorde Heys

Rebel8 Award for Outstanding Emerging Female Director In honor of Samantha Rebillet
Winner: Alisha Hnatjuk (Jean)

Special Mention: Rebel8 Award for Outstanding Emerging Female Director In honor of Samantha
Rebillet: Senie Priti (Alba)


SAE Creative Media Institute FlickerUp Award Best High School Short Film
Winner: Round To It
Director/Producer: Grace Mincherton | Producer: Steve McLeod

Special Mention: Material Girl
Director/Writer/Producer: Lillian Dight

Yoram Gross FlickerUp Award Best High School Animated Short Film
Winner: Mind Of My Own
Director/Writer/Producer: Natalie Leroy

The Flickerfest Short Film Awards continue to cement the festival's global position as a leading International Short Film Festival on the world stage. Following the ceremony, a selection of award-winning films screened before the Closing Night Party took place.

“We are thrilled that the 2021 festival has been such a success with enthusiastic crowds and great enthusiasm expressed for the programmes screened. It’s been great to see short films so warmly embraced by audiences across our ten-day event despite the challenges of COVID and its impact on the arts. I would like to congratulate all of the films selected for Flickerfest in competition this year and all of tonight’s award winners” said Festival director, Bronwyn Kidd.

Flickerfest will now hit the road on a 45 venue national tour to all states and territories across Australia.

PICTURE: Naomi Fryer and Jorde Heys