Theatresports All Stars @ Comedy Festival

Rebecca Varidel
26th Apr 2019

Improvised comedy cup winners from the ‘80s, ‘90s and ‘naughties’ will go head-to-head at the Enmore Theatre as three generations of Theatresports legends during the 2019 Sydney Comedy Festival when the Theatresports All Stars present the annual Battle of the Champions!

Theatresports is all about making up comedy sketches on the spot with the most ridiculous restrictions imaginable: a scene the style of Shakespeare, a Broadway musical, a murder mystery… even performed backwards!

In the hands (and mouths!) of the funniest and fastest improvisers in Sydney, gigantic belly laughs are guaranteed.

Veteran Cranston Cup Champions including Lisa Ricketts, David Callan, Michael Gregory, Dan Cordeaux and Rob Johnston go against stellar newer players Jane Watt, Cale Bain, Jeromaia Detto and Rob Boddington. Add last year’s Grand Final superstar team ‘Mission Improbable 3’ featuring Jestika Chand, Elliot Ulm and Rachael Colquhoun-Fairweather, plus two of the brightest High School champions, Louisa Cusumano (PLC Sydney) and Finn Hoegh-Guldberg (Newington College) and you’ve got the generation ‘gab’ of the year!

Directed by John Knowles and produced by George Catsi, this year’s Battle is hosted by standup comedy legend Tahir Bilgic (Fat Pizza, The Habibs).

Guest judge is writer comedian David Poltorak, original player in first ever Theatresports Cranston Cup Grand Final at Belvoir Street in 1986 and teammate of Andrew Denton, Steve Johnston and David Witt in the legendary team called 'Writers Bloc’.

Theatresports is Australia’s longest-running comedy show and many a rising star has trodden the show’s boards over the last 33 years. The Battle of the Champions celebrates and pays homage to those years and reunites the legends alongside the brilliant new guard with 30 years of impro talent in one 90 minute comedy extravaganza.

Theatresports All-Stars: Battle of the Champions
Sunday May 5 Enmore Theatre