@ Sydney Conservatorium Of Music

$62 - $95

The Musica Viva Festival returns 9th - 12th April at Sydney Conservatorium of Music.

Concert 1 Program:

BACH Cello Suite no. 3 in C major
ADÈS Piano Quintet
BRAHMS Clarinet Sonata no 2, op 120, no 2
DVOŘÁK String Quartet no 10 ‘Slavonic’

The Festival bursts into life with one of the ultimate expressions of chamber music: a solo cello suite by Bach, performed by the legendary Mischa Maisky. From Britain comes the Doric Quartet, joined by Aleksandar Madžar for a Quintet by Thomas Adès, described as 'a vivid reimagination of the past' in a single movement of a compressed drama. The second half introduces clarinet wunderkind Narek Arutyunian and pianist Daniel de Borah in Brahms' beautiful autumnal second sonata, followed by the open hearted folk melodies of Dvořák 'Slavonic' Quartet, performed with innate understanding by the Pavel Haas Quartet from Prague.

Loading Map....
Conservatorium Road
+61 2 9351 2222